Department of Computer Science

Welcome to the home of the the University of Miami's Department of Computer Science. The Department is in the College of Arts and Sciences. It is physically located on the fourth floor of the Ungar Building, on the Coral Gables campus. Dr. Hüseyin Koçak is the department chairman, Dr. Geoff Sutcliffe is the director of undergraduate studies, and Dr. Dilip Sarkar is the director of graduate studies.

The Department offers a major in the undergraduate B.S. degree, an M.S. in Computer Science, and a Ph.D. program in Computer Science. Instruction ranges from introductory programming courses through to advanced courses in faculty research areas.

The Department has faculty with strong research accomplishments in the fields of:

  • Algorithm Engineering
  • Automated Reasoning
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Complexity
  • Computational Geometry and Computer Graphics
  • Cryptography and Network Security
  • Data Mining
  • Molecular Computation
  • Multimedia Systems
  • Music Information Retrieval
  • Robotics
  • Scientific Computing
  • Semantic Web
  • Wireless and Mobile Computing

Last modified: 14 March 2012